Turner House Art Exhibition: 100 Years of Oak Cliff Art

Although Turner House (the Oak Cliff Society of Fine Arts) has hosted many artists and art shows in the past 100 years, it is hosting its first juried art competition, as part of its Centennial Celebration. Artists who apply should visualize 100 years, past, present or future, of Oak Cliff and Dallas (you may interpret this theme widely).

The show is open to all artists living in, working in, or otherwise affiliated with Oak Cliff (zip codes 75208, 75211, 75203, 75224, 75233). Twenty-five (25) works will be selected for the show.

Acceptable media are original, handmade works, including fabric, sculpture, photography, printmaking, painting and mixed media. No film/video.

You must submit your application via EntryThingy here.

If you have any questions about the application process, please contact michelle.stellmaker@freemanco.com.

The guest jurors are Lisa Taylor, Executive Director of Dallas Art Dealers Association (DADA), Kenneth Craighead, Co-owner, Craighead Green Gallery and Benito Huerta, Director of The Gallery at UTA.

Artwork must be ready to hang or be displayed. Maximum size for 2D work is no larger than 24” x 24”, while a 3D work must be able to fit on a standard size 12 x 12 pedestal (which the artist must provide).

The deadline for submissions is midnight, August 17, 2012; limit 5 submissions per applicant. You must also submit a resume. The cost for submitting your work is $10 per application. Only one application per artist. You will be notified via email by September 7 if your work is selected. If you don’t hear from us by that date, your work was not selected. If your entry is selected, you will need to deliver it to Turner House during the week of September 17.

Saturday, the exhibit and activities run from noon to 8:00 p.m, with a reception for the exhibit from 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. Everyone is invited!

Grand prize will be a Purchase Prize of $500 and the work will become part of the permanent collection of Turner House. Other prizes may be announced.

Turner House has a permanent collection of works by Dallas artists, generally from the Texas Regionalist movement of the 1930s and 1940s, and it looks forward to complementing this collection with a work by a contemporary Texas artist.


2012-13 Officers
Chairman – Scott Chase
Vice Chairman – Diane Sherman
Secretary – Carol Hagler
Treasurer – Karen Chappell
Vice Chair, Facilities – Linda Holt
Vice Chair, Rentals – Chris Barker

2012-2015 Board members
Kenda North (2nd term)
Cindy Lawson (1st term)
Thomas Marshall (1st term)
Diana Pollak (1st term)

Current Board Members
Susan Amason
Carolyn Dunnigan
Denis Duncan
Kirk Kirksey
Beverly Palmer

Emeritus Board Members
Russ Aikman
Michael Anderson
Jan Doherty
Gay Addingon
Jennifer Castro
James Prothro
Alfred Martinez
Marguerite Domatti

Advisory Board Members
David Dike
Konrad Shields
David Griffin
Paul Maute